How to See How Much Money You’ve Spent in League of Legends


League of Legends by Riot Games has been among the premier eSports games for many years now. Whether you like playing this MOBA game with friends or being a competitive player, you’ve likely spent some cash on the game.

Some wind up spending quite a bit of money on various items in LoL. You might even be curious to find out how much you’ve spent in the game over time.

Is there a way to see the total amount of money you’ve spent in League of Legends?

The easiest way is to go to the official League of Legends support page. Log into your LoL account if you haven’t already. Then press the big red box that says, “show me the money.” Note, that result only applies to your current region, meaning money spent outside of your current shard isn’t included in these statistics.

In other words, to see the total amount you’ve spent on game purchases, you’d have to write down the sum for each server region. More on this later.

Do you need to use real money to play LoL?

New players might be confused about the idea of spending money in League of Legends.

After all, isn’t LoL supposed to be a free-to-play title?

League of Legends is a free game, but you can spend real life money on all sorts of things. Being able to buy game items with your hard-earned cash is also known as microtransactions – a much-dreaded term in online gaming.

While you don’t have to do this, many who are seriously into the game wind up spending cash. Some players have spent thousands of dollars on this game since it launched.

And for some things – like transferring your account to another Riot server – you need to use real-world money.

You can spend real-world cash in LoL to procure characters, new skins, and other benefits, Riot Points, but some of these are also available with the in-game currency you earn while playing the game.

Let’s have a more in-depth look at the two types of in-game currencies available in League of Legends.

Also, check out how to reduce ping in League of Legends.

What is the in-game currency in League of Legends?

There are two kinds of in-game currencies in LoL. One is called Blue Essence – or BE – and the other is called Riot Points – or RP.

The difference between BE and RP is that the former is earned when you level up, while the latter is purchased with real-world money using a credit/debit card, Paypal, or by redeeming a gift code.

BE is earned when you complete missions, open champion capsules and disenchant the champion shards found within the champion capsules.

BE is essentially what was earlier known as Influence Points (IP). Influence Points (IP) were earned by playing the game, but this changed to BE in 2018.

Influence Points were used to buy champions as well as runes. In that sense, both BE and IP can be viewed as a type of Experience Points (XP).

Check out how to activate XP boosts in League of Legends.

This content was first published on

What can you buy with Blue Essence?

The Blue Essence currency can be used to purchase new champions, Hextech crafting mystory champion shards, additional rune pages, chromas, and exclusive content from Essence Emporium.

BE is also used to change your summoner name and upgrade a champion mastery to levels 6 and 7.

What can you buy with Riot Points?

Riot Points (RP) must be purchased with your hard-earned money.

Riot Points can be used to purchase stuff like new favorite champions, skins, chromas, loot boxes like the Hextech chest crafting materials, Bundles, Emotes, Summoner icons, Eternals, Event passes, experience boosts, and more.

In that way, RP is used to give LoL players a more personal video game experience through customization. But RP is also a type of pay-to-win, fx because it gives the average League of Legends player a game advantage and a slightly better chance when playing against a veteran player.

Another thing is that you need to buy and spend RP if you want to transfer your account to another Riot server.

See the League of Legends System requirements.

What is the difference between an LoL region, a shard, and a server region in League of Legends exactly?

While I certainly am no database and server wiz, I got confused by this and decided to do some research.

Let’s start with the server regions.

LoL Server Regions

Riot Games has divided LoL into multiple server regions across the globe. The server regions are:

  • North America
  • Europe West
  • Europe Nordic & East
  • Oceania
  • Russia
  • Turkey
  • Latin America North
  • Latin America South
  • Japan

If you’re within the North America server region, you can only play LoL with players in this server region as well. You can still chat with players within other server regions and other Riot games.

If you want to play with friends in Scandinavia fx, you need to transfer your account to the Europe Nordic & East server region. And for this, you need to purchase RP with real cash. A transfer costs 2600 RP at the time of writing.

To see your current region, simply click on the cog on the bottom right-hand corner of the login screen.

LoL Shard

Okay, so with the server regions out of the way, what the h*** is the League of Legends shard, that Riot support mentions in the link above?

What is the reason you can’t see the money you’ve spent in other (server) regions and shards?

According to Tyler Turk, a Senior Infrastructure Engineer at Riot Games, a shard is “an isolated unit, geographically co-located and contained.”

So shards are systems constrained to a single data center within a server region, and it is a data managing strategy that has positives and negatives.

I suspect that the shard strategy is one of the reasons why things like victory points, honor levels, your loot milestone progress, mission progress, currently ranked league placement, and more won’t transfer when you purchase an account transfer to another server region.

Now, of course, this is not to be confused with Shards, i.e., the currency from the digital strategy card game Legends of Runeterra that is part of LoL universe, which is a totally different thing. Runeterra is the fictional world of League of Legends.

And it’s also not to be confused with things like Champion Shards you can get in League of Legends.

Regions in League of Legends

Now, then there are also in-game regions in LoL. These are fictional places you can visit in the world of Runeterra.

League of Legends has 12 fictional regions. These are:

  1. Bandle City
  2. Bilgewater
  3. Demacia
  4. Freljord
  5. Ionia
  6. Ixtal
  7. Noxus
  8. Piltover and Zaun
  9. Shadow Isles
  10. Shurima
  11. Targon
  12. The Void

The popular battlefield Summoner’s Rift is located in the region of Freljord.

Check out how many hours you’ve played League of Legends.

Is Spending Money Worth it in LoL?

Spending money might be worthwhile if you want to level up faster or get access to certain champions. It might also be more fun for you if you have a character skin that you really enjoy.

Truly, whether it’s a good idea to spend cash on LoL comes down to your preferences. If you have enough money that it won’t put you in a bind, it’ll be fine to buy RP now and then.

If you’d rather save that cash to buy other games, that’d be a good choice as well. It’s simply up to you to decide what to do with your money.

Some League of Legends players would never dream of spending cash on a free-to-play game. Others spend only small amounts, and there are veteran players who spend lots of money on games like this all the time.

Profile picture


Jan has played video games since the early 1980s. He loves getting immersed in video games as a way to take his mind off stuff when the outside world gets too scary. A lifelong gamer, the big interest led to a job as a lecturer on game sound at the University of Copenhagen and several written articles on video games for magazines.

Read more on the About Page.